Fun….


ParasailingAround 2 and a half years ago my parents and I went on a wonderful holiday to Mauritius during my summer break. One of the activities we did on that trip was parasailing. Parasailing is an activity done in the ocean and we did it in the Indian Ocean to be specific. We took a boat trip to a small wooden float in the middle of practically nowhere and then we went up in the air parasailing. I was lucky enough to do this twice. Once with my dad, once with my mum. Below is a close up of when my mum and I were up in the sky.

ParasailingAbove you’ll find a genuine smile on my face and a look of bother on my mum’s. I can promise you its a genuine smile as I didn’t even know my dad was taking the snap. Looking back at this picture I am very embarrassed to have put so much sunscreen on. I wish my parents could have told me. I look like an idiot, but I didn’t know that up there and I certainly didn’t feel it. All I felt was a rush of ecstasy. I had never done such an activity and have to say it was great fun and that I would recommend you try parasailing if you haven’t done so already. It was a once in a lifetime experience, it was unique and it felt great. I was so high above the world in nothing but swimming trunks and a harness. I had the wind rushing through my face and it felt awesome. There was a sense of excitement and a thrill factor to the experience.

You can see from the picture that I seem jolly enough, but my mum looks anxious. You see my mum is afraid of water, so it is remarkable we (my dad and I) got her into this activity anyway. She was worried of falling into the water, hence she seems anxious. All the while I was having great fun and on the previous parasailing ride with my dad a few minutes ago the speedboat driver had plunged us into the ocean. The cold touch of the ocean against my baked skin in the Mauritian sun felt great and so I yelled to the speedboat driver, “Lower! Lower!” My mum got angry but wasn’t in the mood to say anything at the time. The driver responded and slowed the boat down. This made the parasailing line floppy causing us (my mum and I) to plunge into the water. I hoped we had plunged in the water, instead we accidentally got submerged. It was only for a second, but that didn’t matter. That second was enough to make my mum panic and I had to listen to some nasty words after that, which I wish not to replicate, but this didn’t change my experience. I had a great time and will cherish the memory. The only time I got worried was during landing as my mum was supposed to steer the parachute and she nearly missed the float we were meant to land on. I had a thrill of a time parasailing and wish that you may be as lucky as me to try it out too.

This is my response to this week’s weekly writing challenge. I encourage you to have a go yourself and check out: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/writing-challenge-truth/#more-15707

To check out other awesome blog entries click on the following links:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 11 Years Sober! | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  2. Sharing A Genuine Smile | Ramblings From A Busy Woman
  3. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth is Stranger than Fiction | AC’s Sharing Spree
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction. Shine A Light | The Daily Dilly Dally
  5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction | Lines by Linda
  6. Lipstick Bliss « Thoughts of a Lunatic
  7. A moment of bliss | Master Of Disaster
  8. For Evee | theloneshewolf
  9. Laughter is the shortest distance between two people. | Abstract Organized Chaos
  10. Laughter is the shortest distance between two people. | Oh Pithy Me
  11. Smiling in Happy Town | Citizen of Ville Joie
  12. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction | retiredruth – Life in the 50’s and beyond
  13. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction | baka’s blog
  14. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth is Stranger than Fiction | Jolene’s Life in Focus
  15. If you’re happy and you know it (then your face will surely show it) | Front Porches and Candlelight
  16. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction | tirochelle
  17. Today I’m a Trombone Player | Wiley’s Wisdom
  18. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction — 15, The World Is Mine! | SERENDIPITY
  19. Precious Gift of Life | Hope of light
  20. Frozen Moments | Kingdom of Sharks
  21. Travel Back in Time | prisailurophileblog
  22. The Shaw Invasion | Jolene’s Life in Focus
  23. Happiness (according to Fin) | Fifty Words a Day
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth is Stranger Than Fiction (Entry) | Share, My Dad Says.
  25. It’s my time! | Philosophy & Photography
  26. Happy | Philosophy & Photography
  27. Mat at work | Philosophy & Photography
  28. Steve Hanuman | Philosophy & Photography
  29. Size does matter! | Philosophy & Photography
  30. Cheers! | Philosophy & Photography
  31. Humble worker | Philosophy & Photography
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge: A Moment of Spontaneity | The Life of A Thinker
  33. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth is Stranger Than Fiction (Entry #2) | Share, My Dad Says.
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth is Stranger Than Fiction | Tranquil Dreams
  35. First Steps | Confessions Of A Drow
  36. Weekly Writing Challenge: Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction. Bonus Post | The Daily Dilly Dally
This entry was posted in Challenges, Other, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

